tour de cleve.

Dear Cleveland,
On July 29, 2011 – you must do this.

…and if you don’t live in Cleveland, find your local chapter and get involved.

I participated in Cleveland Critical Mass last night. Critical Mass is a bicycling event typically held the last Friday of every month in over 300 cities around the world.

HOLY FUN.


(Check out my Peugeot! I’m in love.)

CCM meets downtown in Public Square.

This month’s ride was extra special for a couple riders, they got married! Sadly I missed the wedding but I heard it was super cute.

At 6:30pm we were off!

We rode around downtown for a bit before circling back to Public Square to meet up with another group ready to go at 7pm.

The destination this month was the Larchmere neighborhood in Cleveland near Shaker Heights.

Along the way we were greeted with lots of waves, words of encouragement, friendly honks, and curious bystanders. It was amazing to see how supportive and happy most motorists and locals were. I heard so many people inquire about what was going on and how they could get involved. I talked with a couple ladies who were working at a local shop, giving them the information and encouragement to join us next month. I hope they weren’t too offended by my sweaty helmet hair.

After an hour and 15 minutes and 12.29 miles, we made it!

Our grumbling tummies and need for rehydration led us to Academy Tavern on Larchmere Blvd.

Their fish and chips special and a tall brew made this lady very happy.

So seriously, July 29 – be there. And don’t worry if you don’t have a bike, you can contact Great Lakes Touring Company to rent one! They will deliver a bike for you at Public Square and pick it up at the end of the ride.

I’ve done a lot of cool things in this city, but I don’t know if CCM can be topped. Ride on.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “tour de cleve.

  1. Tim

    This was an awesome time, hells yeah CLE bikers!

  2. I was originally bummed when I realized I had made plans for Friday night. Then I was even more bummed when those plans got cancelled and I forgot about the ride! I just got my bike last week and I’m eager to do stuff like this. Looks like a blast – I’m marking down the July 24 date NOW!

  3. tangotillyouresore

    Thanks for posting! I’ll this link to http://clevelandcriticalmass.com/articles

    🙂

Leave a Reply

