pretzel cookies you say?

I know I named my blog “Hip & Healthy”, but I love to bake so you’re going to get a lot of very unhealthy things.

Today I wanted to experiment, so that’s exactly what I did.

Oatmeal Cookies with Milk Chocolate Chips and Pretzel bits (yeah!)

Who doesn’t love chocolate covered pretzels? I know I really do!

Like I said earlier, these aren’t healthy BUT there are exactly two ways these are semi-healthy.

  1. With the addition to Oatmeal I am not tempted to eat the dough. Uncooked oatmeal isn’t the most pleasurable thing to nosh on.
  2. Oatmeal adds a significant amount of fiber to the cookies. We all know fiber = goooood.

I started with the Quaker Oats Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe. I reduced the salt to a 1/4 teaspoon (since there is salt on the pretzel sticks), obviously replaced the raisins with chocolate chips, and added chopped/crushed pretzels.

I wasn’t sure if adding the pretzel bits to the dough would result in them being soggy, so I tested the pretzels inside and outside.

Aaaaaand the winner is…

Pretzel outside!

Just sprinkle pretzel pieces on top of cookie dough before baking. They come out crunchy and salty and all around perfect.

The cutest kid ever approves (aka my nephew, A.J.)

He never tasted the cookies, he’s just cute.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “pretzel cookies you say?

  1. These sound really good and I never thought to add oatmeal for extra fiber. I will have to give that a try.

Leave a Reply

