motivation.

Well, the time has come. My first race for the year is on Sunday and I’m as ready as I’ll be. I head down to Columbus on Saturday for the Runcbus 10-miler on Sunday morning.

I’m not going to lie, I’m nervous. Just as my right leg healed, my left started to act up. I gots a terrible case of the shin splints. And after weeks of trying to “heal” myself, nothing seems to be working. I’m compressing, icing, heating, elevating:

I am now stuck wearing these compression sleeves when I run; I changed my shoes and I take an aspirin before I head out – all which help A LOT.

Don’t mind me, I’m just going to soccer practice…

With my struggle to overcome the pain, my motivation has gone down the tubes. Some days, running is the last thing I want to do. I can’t just throw on a pair of shoes and head out the door, it has to be this whole ordeal.

Thankfully yesterday, I discovered that one of my favorite documentaries is on Hulu. The Spirit of the Marathon is an amazing film following 7 runners (of all levels) who run the Chicago Marathon in 2005. I dare you to watch this documentary and not be inspired to run. You may fall in love with the sport, too.

I took time out to watch it yesterday and needless to say, I immediately grabbed all my gear and ran 6 miles. I felt good amazing. I am ready.

Hope you’ll excuse me, I have a couple of races to run.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

